Burg Eisenhardt Bad Belzig castle


Museum Burg Eisenhardt
Wittenberger Straße 14
14806 Bad Belzig
Phone 033841-42461
Fax 033841-45003



Business hours

Eisenhardt Castle is located on a spurlike, graduated ridge in Fläming south west of Bad Belzig. There are traces of 3,000 years of building history on the castle hill. Excavation work began on the Romanesque castle chapel in 1993, for example. In the mid-15th century, the Electors of Saxony built a fortress (1465 “Eisenhardt”). At the end of the 15th century, the facility was converted into a castle complex. The gatehouse with its cellular vaulting represents a unique connection between Saxon fortress and castle construction. The “Eisenhardt” was destroyed by Sweden in 1636. There is evidence of extensive renovations in the 17th century. After a visit by the Prussian King Frederick William IV in 1849, extensive restoration works were carried out at the castle on his instruction. The complex was fully renovated between winter 1989 and 2008.

The local history museum is located in the Late Gothic gatehouse of Eisenhardt Castle. Here you can find information on the history of the castle and the site of the Battle of Hagelberg 1813, for example. The exhibition also includes a presentation on the Reich School of the Technische Nothilfe (Technical Emergency Service) and Roederhof women’s concentration camp in Belzig.

The castle tower offers a beautiful view of the town and the Fläming landscape.

In addition to tours, the local history museum also offers experience projects for every occasion. Embark on a medieval adventure in full battle armour.


Adults: € 2,50 Museum+Turm
Reduced: € 1,50 Museum+Turm
€ 1,00 , Turm (ohne Museum)


For further information, please visit

Location and surroundings

Supported by the 'TMB Tourismus-Marketing Brandenburg GmbH'. For more information on trips and excursions, please visit www.brandenburg-tourism.com